top of page

Going through early menopause.

So I really wanted to write about this as it's something that I'm experiencing right now, I'll give you some background, I've suffered with endometriosis from around the age of 18 I'm now 34, I found out I was infertile at the age of 25, endometriosis is a very painful condition that can be debilitating and leave you in agonising pain, I had the contraceptive implant for 6 years which stopped my periods which was great at first as I wasn't loosing so much blood, I don't want to get too gory but I bled a lot, however the implant didn't help with the pain of the endometriosis, I should probably tell you for those that don't know endometriosis is a disease of the womb. So after three lots of surgery and many consultations I finally went back to a gynecologist that I trust, and he decided the best cause of action was to have what's know as a chemical hysterectomy which basically means having injections that shut down the ovaries and make it feel like you've had an actual hysterectomy, the great thing about these injections is it's stopped the pain so it does feel like a hysterectomy, I feel like I don't have a womb, which is good as the pains stopped, however I'm now experiencing menopausal symptoms which is strange, the worst part of the menopause symptoms is the emotional side of it, I can't seem to get my emotions under control, I keep crying at random things and it's becoming quite hard to deal with, I'm feeling a sense of loss even though my womb hasn't gone anywhere yet, so it is hard to have these feelings and I'm taking control and talking with various health professionals to get all the help I can.

Ladies if you're going through the menopause please talk about it to people and don't be embarrassed, and if you're going through the early menopause like me then again get as much support as you can, I'm literally exhausted from all these emotions, but you can ride the storm, you'll get through this, you can do this.

Find me on Twitter if you need to talk, us women need to stick together.

Much love.

Alexandra Denman, Psychotherapy Practitioner.


44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page